Sign In

Missouri Medical Cannabis Card

Get your Missouri Medical Cannabis Card

1. Find Out if You Qualify

Benefits of medical cannabis status: patients may shop at dispensaries or grow up to six flowering (female) plants in their home, in addition to six non-flowering (male) plants, and six clones (plants cut from plant clippings).

  • Cancer
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
  • A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome
  • Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to, post-traumatic stress order if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist
  • Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with prescription medications that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
  • A terminal illness
  • In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to, hepatitis C,
  • amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome.

2. Patients must then apply for an identification card

The DHSS will approve or deny an application within 30 days of receipt. Patients can then visit the DHSS website to download a copy of their medical marijuana ID card. The DHSS will not provide physical cards for patients and caregivers. ID cards are valid for one year.

What You’ll Need

  • A completed application.
  • Proof of Missouri residency.
  • A completed and signed physician’s recommendation, received no more than 30 days prior.
  • A clear, color photo of the patient’s face taken within the last three months.
  • A $25 application fee.
  • For minors, proof of parental/legal guardian consent.
  • An indication that the patient is seeking authority to cultivate medical marijuana, if applicable (plus an additional $100 fee).


If the patient wishes to designate a caregiver, a patient authorization form that names the designated individual. If two caregivers are designated, the patient must submit a form for each person. Per Missouri law, a medical marijuana caregiver cannot serve more than three patients. Caregivers can cultivate cannabis on behalf of their patient(s), but may not do so if the patient has a cultivator license.