Pennsylvania Cannabis FAQs
Here are the MOST Frequently Asked Questions across our Pennsylvania Community. This FAQ section is updated regularly, so if you’ve got a question we missed, please let us know.
No, adult-use or recreational cannabis is not legal in Pennsylvania, however medical cannabis is.
The Pennsylvania Department of Health and its Office of Medical Marijuana oversee the patient registry.
The state website lists the following basic requirements prospective patients must meet in order to apply to the state program.
- You must be a resident of Pennsylvania.
- You must register with the Medical Marijuana Registry as the first step in applying.
- Have a registered and DOH approved physician certify you as diagnosed for an approved “serious medical condition”.
- You must be at least 18 years old.
Must have a current qualifying condition.
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Anxiety disorders
- Cancer, including remission therapy
- Crohn’s disease
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the central nervous system (brain-spinal cord) with an objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity, and other associated neuropathies
- Dyskinetic and spastic movement disorders
- HIV / AIDS
- Huntington’s disease
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Intractable seizures
- Multiple sclerosis
- Neurodegenerative diseases
- Opioid use disorder for which conventional therapeutic interventions are contraindicated or ineffective, or for which adjunctive therapy is indicated in combination with primary therapeutic interventions
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain
- Sickle cell anemia
- Terminal illness
- Tourette syndrome
Pennsylvania allows minors with serious qualifying conditions to register. Minors must have designated and approved caregiver(s).
The state of Pennsylvania limits the products and use of medical cannabis and therefore doesn’t allow the combustion or smoking of cannabis.
There are a few steps that must be taken in the proper order before receiving your medical card in Pennsylvania.
- Register with the program and await email confirmation.
- Have a registered physician certify your qualifying condition.
- Pay for your medical card (Once qualified an email will be sent on how to pay the $50.00 fee – Ask about discounts)
- Wait for the card to arrive by mail.
The Pennsylvania Department of Health states that you should allow 7 days for printing from the date you paid for your ID card and 14 days to receive it in the mail. Therefore Your card will be mailed to the address in your patient profile in about 3 weeks.
Caregivers have a slightly different process. You can learn about caregivers on the DOH site.
No, unfortunately only Pennsylvania resident patients are allowed to participate and purchase at dispensaries.
Unfortunately no, Pennsylvania doesn’t require insurers to cover the cost.
No, regardless of medical use, no one may grow cannabis in Pennsylvania. It’s a felony charge in Pennsylvania to cultivate any number of plants.
Act 16 doesn’t list places for patients to consume. Basically, you will need to be in your private residence or have special arrangements made.
Medical patients are only allowed to be dispensed 30 days worth of cannabis from state licensed dispensaries. It’s illegal for non medical patients to possess cannabis. 30 grams or less may result in $500 in fines and or 30 days of jail time. If convicted of over 30 grams, you could spend up to 1 year in jail.